FAQ

A little about me

Hello, welcome to my website- it means the world to me that you’ve found yourself here. I’m Katie, I’m from Hull, East Yorkshire, England and (for now) I’m 24 years old. I travel with my boyfriend Joe who I’ve been with for 5 years, I have 2 brothers, a sister, a niece, 2 goldfish and 1 dead hamster (whom I loved dearly). My mum is my best friend, I’m a gym nut, I don’t drink alcohol, I’m a vegan, I have IBD and big dreams to see the world.

Enough snooze-inducing small talk, let’s get on with the good stuff.

Where do you call home?

Wherever I lay my hat….

My home is wherever my mum lives, she is my home.

How long have you been travelling?

I left England in December 2016 with no real plans of returning. Have those plans changed since? Maybe, but for now I’m happy living in Thailand.

How many countries have you been to?

Around 30+, I forget to keep tabs on it. I visited around 20 when I backpacked around Europe 2015. Every country is on my list though and I’ll tick them all off eventually.

What is your favourite place?

Tough one. In all truthfulness, I don’t think I’ve found it yet.

How do you earn money on the road?

In Europe I didn’t work at all- I saved up all of my pennies beforehand living with my boyfriend’s parents and earning minimum wage at Topshop. Now, I work as a TEFL (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) teacher in Thailand. I’m qualified to do so anywhere in the World so never have to go home to earn money to travel again.

10 things that make you happy?

  1. My lovely, sometimes annoying, sometimes a bit of an arse but I love him all the same boyfriend
  2. My mum.
  3. Food! (I’m possibly the biggest greedy guts you’ll ever meet)
  4. Travelling some place new
  5. A big mug of green tea
  6. The sunshine
  7. Dancing like a mad woman
  8. Manners
  9. Watching cute animal videos on YouTube
  10. Writing

How do you stay vegan?

Pretty easily actually, most people think it will be a massive hassle which it really isn’t. My one trick is to do your research; type vegetarian in Google maps and see if you can find any restaurants nearby, look at blogs, look at happy cow. More importantly, learning phrases like; no meat, no fish, no egg, no dairy, vegetarian and vegan in various languages can be priceless. I also love to cook so give me a local market and a kitchen and I’ll be in my element.

What is your daily routine?

No two days are ever the same for me and that is why I love doing what I do. My mornings however, stay pretty rigid. I’m a bit of an early bird and wake up between 6:30 and 7:30am every day, I’ll quickly check my emails, have a scroll on Instagram in bed (VERY annoying habit according to my boyfriend). Then I’ll get up, brush my teeth, wash and cleanse my face and either go to the gym or do a home workout if I’m not working. After that I’ll make a green tea, eat breakfast which is usually a fruit bowl- watermelon, mango, pineapple and dragon fruit. By this time I’ll be feeling lonely so will wake up Joe and we’ll go about our day.

There you have it, my thrilling morning.

How do you manage IBD?

Sometimes it can be incredibly difficult. Finding what works for you; what routines, what foods are a no-no, what helps you etc is the biggest step. I can’t drink alcohol or caffeine, I can’t eat fried foods or anything  bad for me, green tea and exercise are my main saviours. I mourned over this for a while, thinking I couldn’t eat anything fun but I quickly moved past it because it’s the best for my body. I’ve puked on the side of the road after eating something I shouldn’t, I’ve had a bad flare-up in 50 degree heat IN A TENT! Travelling and IBD really don’t mix at times, BUT I would never let anything stop me from doing what I want to do.

My advice; plan ahead, always be prepared and hope for the best.

How can I do what you do?

Pretty easily, save save save! I travelled for a total of 7 months around the world without working whilst travelling, I saved as much as a I possibly could before hand. I don’t have rich parents who fund my travels, I don’t have a trust fund, I don’t have thousands of £££ in the bank. I’m not lucky, this didn’t happen overnight I simply worked my bum off and curbed my spending- anybody can do it if you want it bad enough.  Check out my post on how to budget like a boss here! If you want to teach English as a second language

If you want to become a TEFL teacher like me; I gained my qualification through TEFL Heaven and loved it! Give them a google or check out my previous blog posts here!  (No way affiliated with them by the way).

How can I work with you?

My blog is 100% real and authentic and I aim to keep it that way. I believe sponsored posts can be misleading and dishonest and ad banners are plain annoying. Everything I write about I believe in and have experienced MYSELF, you cannot pay to put words in my mouth so please don’t propose any sort of sponsorship deals. I love doing what I do and I love that people visit my blog because they believe what I have to say, not a random company.

Having said that…. if you want me to write a guest post for your blog, you want to write one for mine, you want any help or advice with your upcoming trip, or you just think I’m a cool girl and want to meet up with me when I’m in your area, give me a shout wherekatiegoes@gmail.com